F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, Le Mans, And More!

Top News!

Rumors Edition!

Top Stories
· 2019 WRC: Evans and Tanak stay in hunt for win on gravel behind relieved Ogier (Mar 10, 2019)
· 2019 Phoenix: NASCAR Xfinity Race Results - Kyle Busch gets 11th Phoenix win, ties NASCAR Xfinity Series record (Mar 10, 2019)
· 2019 St. Pete: IndyCar Qualifying Results - Team Penske's Power wins record eighth St. Petersburg pole (Mar 9, 2019)
· 2019 Qatar GP: MotoGP Qualifying Results - Battle ready, Vinales lights up Losail for pole (Mar 9, 2019)
· 2019 Phoenix: Monster Energy NASCAR Cup - Saturday Notebook (Mar 9, 2019)
· 2019 WRC: Composed Ogier leads after drama-filled Friday at Rally Mexico (Mar 9, 2019)
· 2019 St. Pete: IndyCar Practice Results - Home advantage helps Florida duo lead St. Petersburg practice (Mar 9, 2019)
· 2019 Phoenix: Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Qualifying Results - Ryan Blaney speeds to Phoenix pole after tempers flare on pit road (Mar 9, 2019)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· 2018 F1: Indycar move possible for Alonso? (Aug 6, 2018)
· 2018 F1: Lawrence Stroll buys Force India? (Jul 24, 2018)
· 2018 F1: Marchionne condition 'irreversible'? (Jul 23, 2018)
· 2018 F1: Raikkoen to Sauber Update? (Jul 21, 2018)
· 2018 F1: Hamilton objects to Rosberg interview? (Jul 21, 2018)
More Rumors!

2019 St. Pete: IndyCar Race Results - Newgarden, Penske Win!
Posted by: ASkyler on Mar 10, 2019 - 04:08 PM
IndyCar News
2019 St. Pete: IndyCar Race Results - Newgarden, Penske Win!

Josef Newgarden and his No.  2 Hitachi / Verizon Penske Chevrolet has won the 2019 St. Petersburg Grand Prix.

Josef Newgarden and his No. 2 Hitachi / Verizon Penske Chevrolet has won the 2019 St. Petersburg Grand Prix.
Credit: PaddockTalk/Paul Hurley

By Mike Sulka

Penske kind of weekend. Josef Newgarden and his No. 2 Hitachi / Verizon Penske Chevrolet has won the 2019 St. Petersburg Grand Prix. For Newgarden, it is his first victory of the season, and 11th of his IndyCar career. It is also his 23rd career IndyCar podium.

Scott Dixon and his No. 9 PNC Bank Ganassi Honda would finish second, and claim his 106th major open-wheel series podium.

Polesitter Will Power and his No. 12 Verizon Chevrolet Penske led early, but would finish with 71st major open-wheel podium.

Felix Rosenqvist and his Ganassi prepared IndyCar led laps, but would finish fourth. Alexander Rossi and his No. 27 Andretti Autosport IndyCar would round out the top-five finishers.


The green flag would drop and the 2019 IndyCar season was underway on the streets of St. Petersburg, Florida. Will Power and his No. 12 Penske IndyCar would lead. Rookie Felix Rosenqvist (Formula E and sports car veteran), Josef Newgarden, Scott Dixon and Alexander Rossi would slot in behind. A clean start for a 24 car field.

On Lap 15 the first incident of the day would be Sebastien Bourdais and his No. 18 IndyCar Honda which had fire and smoke pouring from the right rear area. Power would make a pitstop from the lead, but race officials would hold the yellow flag. Power would return to the track in seventh, Rosenqvist would take the lead, but pit a lap later. The rest of the leaders would follow up with stops on the next lap. By Lap 19, Power was back in front.

The first yellow flag came on Lap 20 as Ryan Hunter-Reay's Honda powered IndyCar would spew clouds of smoke into the front stretch air.

On the restart, Rosenqvist would take a tire smoking lead entering Turn One as Will Power was moved back to second place.

On Lap 26, Ed Jones and his No. 20 Chevrolet would slam into the Turn 9 barrier. Matheus Leist and his No. 4 Chevrolet would exit the turn full speed and smack his left rear on Jones' stricken car. Both drivers day would end, and the second yellow of the race would fly.

Rosenqvist would lead the field back to green on Lap 35. Power, Newgarden, Dixon would follow until Lap 51. Power would be the first of the leaders to make a pitstop. Rosenqvist would follow suit on the next lap. Dixon would wait three more laps, and Newgarden would wait four.

After all of the stops, Newgarden would lead followed by Marco Andretti (alternate pit strategy), Dixon, Power, and Rosenqvist.

In an effort to avoid the late caution, the leaders would all make their last pitstops of the Grand Prix on Laps 79 through 82. Newgarden would lead followed by Dixon, Power, Rosenqvist, and Rossi.

2019 St. Petersburg Race Results

1. Josef Newgarden
2. Scott Dixon
3. Will Power
4. Felix Rosenqvist
5. Alexander Rossi
6. James Hinchcliffe
7. Simon Pagenaud
8. Colton Herta
9. Santino Ferrucci
10. Jack Harvey
11. Spencer Pigot
12. Graham Rahal
13. Marco Andretti
14. Zach Veach
15. Tony Kanaan
16. Max Chilton
17. Charlie Kimball
18. Ben Hanley
19. Takuma Sato
20. Marcus Ericsson
21. Ed Jones
22. Mathus Leist
23. Ryan Hunter-Reay
24. Sebastien Bourdais

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in IndyCar News:

Related links
· IndyCar Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· IndyCar Rumors
· More about IndyCar News

Home :: About :: Social :: Contact :: Archives :: Video :: Submit :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2020 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]