F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, Le Mans, And More!

Top News!

Rumors Edition!

Top Stories
· 2018 Detroit (Race 2): IndyCar Race Results - Hunter-Reay, Honda Win! (Jun 3, 2018)
· 2018 Pocono: NASCAR Monster Energy Race Results - Martin Truex Jr. asserts himself with convincing victory (Jun 3, 2018)
· 2018 Detroit (Race 2): IndyCar Qualifying Results - Rossi overcomes wet conditions to win pole (Jun 3, 2018)
· 2018 NHRA: Torrence, Hagan, Anderson & Hines Keep No 1 Qualifying Positions In Joliet (Jun 3, 2018)
· 2018 Detroit (Race 1): IndyCar Race Results - Dixon, Honda Win! (Jun 2, 2018)
· 2018 Pocono: NASCAR Xfinity Race Results - Kyle Busch claims first NASCAR Xfinity Series win (Jun 2, 2018)
· 2018 Pocono: NASCAR Monster Energy - Saturday Notebook (Jun 2, 2018)
· 2018 Detroit (Race 1): IndyCar Qualifying Results - Andretti On Pole! (Jun 2, 2018)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· 2018 F1: Kubica could replace Hartley at Toro Rosso? (May 31, 2018)
· 2018 F1: Ferrari DRS illegal? (May 31, 2018)
· 2018 F1: Alonso's manager to attend Indycar race ? (May 30, 2018)
· 2018 F1: New York GP ? (May 29, 2018)
· 2018 F1: Verstappen says no Toro Rosso demotion? (May 29, 2018)
More Rumors!

2018 Detroit (Race 2): IndyCar Race Results - Hunter-Reay, Honda Win!
Posted by: ASkyler on Jun 03, 2018 - 06:45 PM
IndyCar News
2018 Detroit (Race 2): IndyCar Race Results - Hunter-Reay, Honda Win!

Ryan Hunter-Reay and his No. 28 Andretti Autosport Honda put the pressure on to take victory at Belle Isle in Detroit, Michigan.

Ryan Hunter-Reay and his No. 28 Andretti Autosport Honda put the pressure on to take victory at Belle Isle in Detroit, Michigan.
Credit: PaddockTalk / Paul Hurley

By Mike Sulka

Great strategy, great pressure. Ryan Hunter-Reay and his No. 28 Andretti Autosport Honda put the pressure on to take victory at Belle Isle in Detroit, Michigan. For Hunter-Reay, it is his first win of the 2018 IndyCar season, and 15th of his IndyCar career. It is also his 17th major open-wheel victory.

Hunter-Reay perfectly executed the Andretti Autosport pitwall strategy, and would "drive his rear end off" to get Alexander Rossi to make the mistake which cost him the win, and the points lead.

For Honda, the manufacturer took their second straight victory on Chevrolet's home turf.

Will Power and his No. 12 would never threaten for the win, but he made the most of the day and took the IndyCar drivers championship points lead by five over Scott Dixon. Power would pick up his fourth podium of the year, and 60th of his IndyCar career. Power now has 66 major open-wheel podiums.

Ed Jones from the United Arab Emirates picked up his second podium of the year, and third of his career.

Scott Dixon won yesterday, but today he finished fourth to take over second in the drivers championship.

Graham Rahal finished fifth.


The second race of the weekend got off to an inauspicious start as the pace car lost control on its first journey around the circuit, and slammed head-on into the concrete barrier. After a 45 minute delay a back-up pace care was positioned ahead of the pack and the race was started.

Five turns later, Spencer Pigot and his No. 21 IndyCar would spin - apparently hit from behind - to bring out the first full-course caution of the day. Alexander Rossi would lead followed by Robert Wickens, Will Power, Scott Dixon and James Hinchcliffe.

Green flag racing would return after the 4-lap caution period. The order at the front would remain the same through lap 12. Wickens would be the first of the leaders due to tire issues. Though it would put him on the alternate strategy.

By Lap 20, Rossi would continue to lead followed by Power, Ed Jones, Dixon and Graham Rahal. Dixon would pit from third two laps later, Rahal would also pit with him. Santino Ferrucci would spin at the exit of pit road with IndyCars braking hard to miss him at a high speed section of the track. Rossi and Power would pit immediately saving their races from an untimely yellow - which never came.

After the initial pitstops, Wickens would lead followed by Ryan Hunter-Reay (who pitted on Lap 10), Rossi, Tony Kanaan and Simon Pagenaud. Wickens would stop on Lap 30, while Hunter-Reay would stay out for three more laps.

Race leader Rossi would make his final stop on Lap 46 with Power, Dixon, Rahal all pitting with him. Pitroad would see a large piece of debris on the TV, and call in many of their drivers anticipating the second yellow - but it would never come.

Hunter-Reay would take the lead for six laps, but would finally make his last stop of the afternoon.

Alexander Rossi would retake the lead, and Hunter-Reay would return to the track in second position. Power would run third ahead of Ed Jones and Scott Dixon.

With seven laps to go, Rossi would stumble while under heavy pressure from Hunter-Reay. Rossi would miss his braking point for Turn Three and straight line into the run-off area.

Hunter-Reay would take the lead. Rossi's left front tire would expire and his IndyCar would vibrate heavily all the way back to pit lane. A great race gone in a moment.

Congratulations to Ryan Hunter-Reay who would cruise home to victory!

Next up, the IndyCar series will head to the 1.5 mile oval at Texas Motor Speedway in Fort Worth, Texas.

Race Results

1 Ryan Hunter-Reay
2 Will Power
3 Ed Jones
4 Scott Dixon
5 Graham Rahal
6 Robert Wickens
7 Tony Kanaan
8 Charlie Kimball
9 Marco Andretti
10 Simon Pagenaud
11 Max Chilton
12 Alexander Rossi
13 Zach Veach
14 Matheus Leist
15 Josef Newgarden
16 James Hinchcliffe
17 Takuma Sato
18 Jordan King
19 Gabby Chaves
20 Santino Ferrucci
21 Sebastien Bourdais
22 Rene Binder
23 Spencer Pigot

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in IndyCar News:

Related links
· IndyCar Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· IndyCar Rumors
· More about IndyCar News

Home :: About :: Social :: Contact :: Archives :: Video :: Submit :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2015 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]