F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, Le Mans, And More!

Top News!

Rumors Edition!

Top Stories
· 2017 Mid-Ohio: IndyCar Race Results - Newgarden, Penske Win! (Jul 30, 2017)
· 2017 Hungary GP: Formula One F1 Race Results - Vettel, Ferrari Win! (Jul 30, 2017)
· 2017 NHRA: Tonglet Wins NHRA Pro Bike Battle; Pritchett, Hight, Skillman And M Smith Clinch No 1 Qualifying Positions At Toyota NHRA Sonoma Nationals (Jul 30, 2017)
· 2017 Iowa: NASCAR Xfinity Race Results - Ryan Preece finds Victory Lane at Iowa in pressure-packed performance (Jul 30, 2017)
· 2017 Hungary GP: Formula One F1 Starting Line-up Grid & Race Preview (Jul 29, 2017)
· 2017 Mid-Ohio: IndyCar Qualifying Results - Power, Penske On Pole! (Jul 29, 2017)
· 2017 Pocono: NASCAR Truck Race Results - Christopher Bell pulls away (Jul 29, 2017)
· 2017 Pocono II: NASCAR Monster Energy - Saturday Notebook (Jul 29, 2017)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· 2017 F1: Ferrari to announce Vettel-Raikkonen at Monza ? (Jul 30, 2017)
· 2017 F1: Hamilton, Ferrari move ? (Jul 29, 2017)
· 2017 F1: McLaren hopes for Toro Rosso-Honda deal ? (Jul 29, 2017)
· 2017 F1: Unwell Massa checked in Budapest hospital ? (Jul 29, 2017)
· 2017 F1: Rosberg to be Formula E team boss ? (Jul 27, 2017)
More Rumors!

2017 Mid-Ohio: IndyCar Race Results - Newgarden, Penske Win!
Posted by: ASkyler on Jul 30, 2017 - 05:35 PM
IndyCar News
2017 Mid-Ohio: IndyCar Race Results - Newgarden, Penske Win!

Josef Newgarden and his No. 2 Penske Chevrolet was fabulous as he won the Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio in Lexington, Ohio.

Josef Newgarden and his No. 2 Penske Chevrolet was fabulous as he won the Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio in Lexington, Ohio.
Credit: PaddockTalk / Paul Hurley

By Mike Sulka

Strong convincing run! Josef Newgarden and his No. 2 Penske Chevrolet was fabulous as he won the Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio in Lexington, Ohio. For Newgarden, it is his third win and sixth podium of the year. Newgarden now has six career wins and 16 podiums in IndyCar competition.

Will Power and his No. 12 Penske Chevrolet just couldn't hold off Newgarden, and couldn't catch him after a late yellow. For Power, he was able to capture his fifth podium of the year, and 54th IndyCar podium of his career. It was also his 60th major open-wheel racing podium.

In third, Graham Rahal would pick up his third podium of the year, and 22nd career podium in the IndyCar series. Rahal also has a total of 26 major open-wheel podiums in his career.

Simon Pagenaud would pick up a fourth place finish with Takuma Sato rounding out the top-five.


Will Power would lead a clean first Lap from Pole. The order would be Power, Josef Newgarden, Takuma Sato, Graham Rahal, and Helio Castroneves.

On Lap 14, Newgarden would fake to the outside, and then slide to the inside to get past the leader - Power. It was a brilliant move.

On Lap 18, Newgarden would pit from the lead - with Power also pitting at the same time. Interestingly, over half the field was on an alternate fuel strategy with some of the cars pitting as early as Lap 6. Graham Rahal would pit the next time by having gone the longest on the opening stint.

On Lap 20, the order would be Newgarden, Power, Rahal, Simon Pagenaud and Alexander Rossi.

Newgarden would once again pit from the lead, this time on Lap 40. Power would copy the move a lap later, as would Pagenaud. Rahal would once again be the final leader to pit, and return to the circuit in third. The order on Lap 44 would be Newgarden, Power, Rahal, Rossi and Pagenaud.

Newgarden would make his final stop on Lap 65. Power, Rahal and Pagenaud would all pit on the next lap. On Lap 67, the first yellow of the day would wave for Ed Jones who had spun off the track at the far end.

The order on the Lap 70 restart was Newgarden, Power, Rahal, Pagenaud, and Castroneves. And it would stay the same. Newgarden would race unchallenged due to the lapped car of Esteban Gutierrez being between Newgarden and Power. Gutierrez would make a nuisance of himself, Power was stuck.

The race would continue to the end without incident. Victory for Josef Newgarden and Team Penske!

Next up for the IndyCar series is Pocono in three weeks.

Pos Driver Laps

1 Josef Newgarden Winner
2 Will Power 90
3 Graham Rahal 90
4 Simon Pagenaud 90
5 Takuma Sato 90
6 Alexander Rossi 90
7 Helio Castroneves 90
8 Ryan Hunter-Reay 90
9 Scott Dixon 90
10 Conor Daly 90
11 James Hinchcliffe 90
12 Marco Andretti 90
13 Charlie Kimball 90
14 Mikhail Aleshin 90
15 Max Chilton 90
16 Tony Kanaan 90
17 JR Hildebrand 90
18 Carlos Munoz - 1 Lap
19 Spencer Pigot - 1 Lap
20 Esteban Gutierrez - 1 Lap
21 Ed Jones - 2 Laps

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in IndyCar News:

Related links
· IndyCar Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· IndyCar Rumors
· More about IndyCar News

Home :: About :: Social :: Contact :: Archives :: Video :: Submit :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2015 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]