F1, Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, MotoGP, Le Mans, And More!

Top News!

Rumors Edition!

Top Stories
· 2016 British GP: MotoGP Race Results - Maverick rules Silverstone for a stunning maiden win (Sep 4, 2016)
· 2016 Watkins Glen: IndyCar Race Results - Dixon Wins! (Sep 4, 2016)
· 2016 Italian GP (Monza): Formula One F1 Race Results - Rosberg, Mercedes Win! (Sep 4, 2016)
· 2016 Darlington: NASCAR Sprint Cup Starting Line-up Starting Line-up & Race Preview (Sep 4, 2016)
· 2016 Watkins Glen: IndyCar Qualifying Results - Dixon shatters track record, takes pole (Sep 3, 2016)
· 2016 Darlington: NASCAR Xfinity Race Results - Sadler holds off Hamlin for emotional win (Sep 3, 2016)
· 2016 Italian GP (Monza): Formula One F1 Starting Line-up (Grid) & Race Preview (Sep 3, 2016)
· 2016 Darlington: NASCAR Sprint Cup - Saturday Notebook (Sep 3, 2016)

Previous Top Stories!

Hot Rumors!
· 2016 F1: Sale of F1 by CVC definitely done ? (Sep 4, 2016)
· 2016 F1: Whiting in talks to join F1 team ? (Sep 2, 2016)
· 2016 F1: Williams return for Button unlikely ? (Sep 2, 2016)
· 2016 F1: Teams could reject new Pirelli tyre ? (Sep 1, 2016)
· 2016 F1: Massa could turn to Brazil's stock car ? (Sep 1, 2016)
More Rumors!

2016 Watkins Glen: IndyCar Race Results - Dixon Wins!
Posted by: ASkyler on Sep 04, 2016 - 04:29 PM
IndyCar News
2016 Watkins Glen: IndyCar Race Results - Dixon Wins!

Scott Dixon and his No. 9 IndyCar would take the victory at Watkins Glen after saving fuel and running 19 laps after his final pit stop.

Scott Dixon and his No. 9 IndyCar would take the victory at Watkins Glen after saving fuel and running 19 laps after his final pit stop.
Credit: PaddockTalk / Paul Hurley

By Mike Sulka

Who can make fuel ? Scott Dixon and his No. 9 IndyCar would take the victory at Watkins Glen after saving fuel and running 19 laps after his final pit stop. For Dixon, it is second win of the 2016 IndyCar season, and 40th of his major open-wheel racing career. Unfortunately, Dixon's efforts didn't yield enough points to keep in contention for the drivers championship, he is 104 points back.

Josef Newgarden would finish second, his fourth podium of the year, and 10th of his IndyCar career.

Helio Castroneves needed the extra pit stop, but finish third. It was his fourth podium of the year, and 90th major open-wheel career podium.

Conor Daly would finish fourth with Sebastien Bourdais finishing fifth.

Championship points leader Simon Pagenaud was seventh. He'll have a 43 point lead heading to the season finale at Sonoma.


Twenty two cars entered Turn One, 19 exited cleanly. Sebastien Bourdais would get into the tires. Juan Pablo Montoya would get spun. Dixon would retain the lead, and the racing would continue without a yellow flag.

During pitstops on Lap 15, Mikhail Aleshin would hit the steel barriers at the exit of Turn Four - one of the fastest portions of the track - after his left rear Firestone tire exploded. He would get out unaided.

The first yellow would wave, and any driver who hadn't pitted would be at a disadvantage - Will Power, Tony Kanaan, Simon Pagenaud, Helio Castroneves were the big names in trouble. Kanaan would fair the best of the bunch, and return to the track in 12th.

Scott Dixon would lead the field back to the green on Lap 18, followed by Max Chilton, Juan Pablo Montoya, Conor Daly, and Alexander Rossi.

On Lap 19, Graham Rahal would end up in the barriers head on after diving to the inside of Charlie Kimball. They would touch exiting - Kimball's right rear to Rahal's right front - and it was game over for Rahal. Yellow two would fly. Rahal would walk back to pitwall and discuss the situation with a homeless man who had a remarkable resemblance with former late night host David Letterman.

Under yellow, Kanaan's right rear would have a huge vibration - due to a broken toe link - and be forced to pit just as the field went back to full speed.

Dixon would once again lead the field back to green on Lap 24, with the same four drivers in tow. On Lap 26 Montoya would get past Chilton to take second.

On Lap 39, Will Power would hit the blue barriers hard at the Esses. Charlie Kimball would try to pass on the left, Power would slide over and smash his left side into the wall. Power seemed to be taking the natural racing line, until he made contact with Kimball. The incident would bring out the third yellow, and cut Dixon's 15 second lead down to zero. It would also significantly dent Power's championship hopes, as he dropped by 43 points.

The field would pit for their pitstops with Dixon getting a clean stop, but Helio Castroneves had to take less fuel and would take the lead. Montoya would lose three spots in the pit shuffle.

Six cars would lead the field back to green on Lap 42, all gambling on fuel. Dixon would start seventh, and carve past Castroneves, and three others and in one lap re-took the lead.

And then they all started saving fuel.

Dixon would be in the lead with 5 to go, followed by Castroneves, James Hinchcliffe, and Josef Newgarden. Castroneves would pit with 3 to go.

Dixon would complete the laps at a good speed to take the win!

Next up for the IndyCar series will be the season finale at Sonoma, California in two weeks.

WATKINS GLEN, N.Y. - Results Sunday of the INDYCAR Grand Prix at The Glen presented by Hitachi Verizon IndyCar Series event on the 3.37-mile Watkins Glen International, with order of finish, starting position in parentheses, driver, aero-kit engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1. (1) Scott Dixon, Chevrolet, 60, Running
2. (12) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 60, Running
3. (4) Helio Castroneves, Chevrolet, 60, Running
4. (17) Conor Daly, Honda, 60, Running
5. (3) Sebastien Bourdais, Chevrolet, 60, Running
6. (14) Charlie Kimball, Chevrolet, 60, Running
7. (7) Simon Pagenaud, Chevrolet, 60, Running
8. (15) Alexander Rossi, Honda, 60, Running
9. (11) RC Enerson, Honda, 60, Running
10. (6) Max Chilton, Chevrolet, 60, Running
11. (16) Carlos Munoz, Honda, 60, Running
12. (18) Marco Andretti, Honda, 60, Running
13. (8) Juan Pablo Montoya, Chevrolet, 60, Running
14. (19) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Honda, 60, Running
15. (21) Spencer Pigot, Chevrolet, 60, Running
16. (9) Jack Hawksworth, Honda, 60, Running
17. (22) Takuma Sato, Honda, 60, Running
18. (13) James Hinchcliffe, Honda, 59, Running
19. (5) Tony Kanaan, Chevrolet, 59, Running
20. (2) Will Power, Chevrolet, 38, Contact
21. (20) Graham Rahal, Honda, 19, Contact
22. (10) Mikhail Aleshin, Honda, 14, Contact

Race Statistics
Winner's average speed: 119.334
Time of Race: 1:41:39.8592
Margin of victory: 16.5308 seconds
Cautions: 3 for 9 laps
Lead changes: 8 among six drivers

Lap Leaders:
Dixon 1-13
Power 14-15
Dixon 16-30
Montoya 31
Hinchcliffe 32-33
Castroneves 34-35
Dixon 36-40
Munoz 41-43
Dixon 44-60

Verizon IndyCar Series point standings: Pagenaud 555, Power 512, Dixon 451, Castroneves 451, Newgarden 446, Kanaan 427, Rahal 403, Munoz 402, Kimball 389, Hinchcliffe 380.

PaddockTalk Perspective

Also in IndyCar News:

Related links
· IndyCar Edition
· Top PaddockTalk News!
· IndyCar Rumors
· More about IndyCar News

Home :: About :: Social :: Contact :: Archives :: Video :: Submit :: _ 

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest (c) 2003-2015 by PaddockTalk.com.
Contact E-mail: [email protected]